Cop This: D'Angelo & The Testimony 'Live In Paris' Full Concert

It's been a little over a week since we've had D'Angelo "back," and what a week it's been. In that time it's been a downright D'Angelorama -- hundreds of videos have hit the net from his European tour, we got an expertly curated treat from Sam Champ and Okayplayer of audio from the Voodoo Tour, and now we have fan-recorded bootleg of one of his recent shows to add more fuel to our D'Angelobsession. This full concert audio of D'Angelo & The Testimony was captured during his tour stop in Paris, France at Le Zenith on Sunday, January 29th. It's not the cleanest recording as you can hear some talking and assorted sounds from the audience, but it's still the best audio we've heard come from the tour yet. Plus beggars really can't be choosers, and those of us with ravenous appetites for all things D'Angelo right now will take what we can get. And take this we will with the exclusive free download from our good friends at the Funk It blog. I'm listening to this concert now, and it sounds incredible. I can't wait for it to end so that I can listen to it again kind of incredible. I stand in amazement not just at D'Angelo who has come out of hiding and his bag on us, but also at the level of artistry being displayed by the musicians in The Testimony. There aren't enough superlatives to describe how fantastic everyone sounds. But enough from me, listen to two of the new songs -- "Ain't That Easy" and my new favorite song "Another Life" -- that D'Angelo debuted on the road below, peep the entire tracklist and tour personnel after the bounce, go and download this live recording with the quickness, and get lost for a little over two hours once you listen. If you couldn't physically see D'Angelo on his European tour, then this is truly the next best thing to being there.

01. Playa Playa
02. Feel Like Makin' Love [Roberta Flack cover]
03. Ain't That Easy [new song]
04. Devil's Pie
05. Chicken Grease
06. The Line (intro) > The Root
07. The Charade [new song]
08. I've Been Watching You (Move Your Sexy Body) [Parliament cover]
09. Shit, Damn, Motherfucker (inc. bass & drum solo)
10. Solo medley: Brown Sugar (tease) > Jonz In My Bonz > Spanish Joint > Me and Those Dreamin' Eyes of Mine > Cruisin' > Higher > One Mo'Gin > Untitled (How Does It Feel)
11. Another Life [new song]
12. Sugah Daddy [new song]
13. Space Oddity [David Bowie cover]
14. Brown Sugar

- Advertisement -

D'Angelo - Vocals, Guitar, Yamaha CP70 electric piano
The Testimony:

Isaiah Sharkey
- Guitar

Jef Lee Johnson
- Guitar

Ray Angry
- Keys

Pino Palladino
- Bass

Chris "Daddy" Dave
- Drums

Robert Lumzy
- Percussion, Vocals

Kendra Foster
- Vocals

Jermaine Holmes
- Vocals

Charles "Red" Middleton
- Vocals

- Advertisement -

You May Also Like