Sonnymoon Kick Off Their '2012'

Though it's barely three weeks old, 2012 is already proving to be a big year for music. Fitting, then, that Sonnymoon has named their latest EP after it. The duo, who made a name for themselves by covering hip-hop and R&B songs with a trip-hop/electronic twist. 2012, however, features all Sonnymoon originals and is without a doubt a great exploration of their sound. Expanding upon musical textures they developed on covers of songs like Beyoncé's "Yes" and Drake's "Houstatlantavegas," they take this five-song set further into the outer reaches of electronic soul. Vocalist Anna Wise channels everyone from Esthero and Stereolab's Lætitia Sadier to Björk on songs like "Near Me" and "Machinery," while producer Dane Orr gives her the perfect spacey accompaniment to her ethereal vocals. If you hadn't already put them on your list of artists to check for in 2012, consider this your notice. You can head to iTunes to download 2012 now (after you sample it here, of course) and, if you're good and follow through the bounce, you'll get a special video treat of Sonnymoon performing "Near Me" as well.

After the bounce

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

You May Also Like