Ella Mai Is 'Feenin'' On 'Leave You Alone' & Shares 'Heart On My Sleeve' Tracklist

Photo Credit: Ella Mai/YouTube

Ella Mai is ready to set it off as she ushers in her sophomore era. Earlier this week, the British songstress announced that her second album, Heart On My Sleeve, is coming this May and shared the gorgeous cover. That was enough to send fans into a frenzy, but she's not done spilling details about the new project. Ella has also released the album's tracklist and dropped her latest single "Leave You Alone."

Taking her cues from Jodeci's "Feenin'," Ella Mai pays tribute to the '90s R&B classic about a lover whose loving is so good it'll have you hooked like a drug on "Leave You Alone." She even borrows her song's title from the chorus of "Feenin'" where Jodeci croons, "I can't leave you alone / You got me feenin'."

- Advertisement -

In Ella's case, she is entangled with someone who she knows is no good for her. Despite her better judgment and good sense, he has got her open like a 24-hour convenience store and she can't resist his charms – and she hates herself because of it.

“I don't know why I do this / Same ol' drug just a new fix / Too good got me clueless / Guess I really can’t blame it on cupid," Ella begins on the first verse before ending it with the lyrics, "Shoulda left you on read / I blew it / I'm stupid." You can feel poor Ella shaking her head at her damn self.

- Advertisement -

She acknowledges that she's powerless when it comes to him on the chorus. "I just can't stop / Falling for you / You a bad one, baby / Make this good girl crazy," she sings, soon admitting, "Baby, I can't leave you alone."

Producers Meko Yohannes, Mustard, Harmony Samuels and JV hook the track up with a synth-heavy sound bed that sounds straight outta the '90s with Ella singing in a contemporary R&B cadence. For anyone wanting the bridge to return to R&B, "Leave You Alone" has got that and a dope Auto-Tuned outro – another nod to Jodeci – too.

- Advertisement -

Ella Mai's got one with "Leave You Alone." This single follows "Not Another Love Song" and "DFMU," all of which will be on Heart On My Sleeve. The album's tracklist contains a total of 15 songs and will feature guest spots from rappers Latto on "Didn't Say" and Roddy Ricch on "How" and fellow R&B singer Lucky Daye who'll join her on the song "A Mess."

Heart On My Sleeve is now available to pre-order/pre-save from a variety of digital music providers and directly from Ella Mai's website in advance of its May 6th release. Scroll down to peep the back cover art and tracklist after you play "Leave You Alone."

- Advertisement -
Photo Credit: Ella Mai/Instagram

Ella Mai Heart On My Sleeve tracklist:

1. Trying
2. Not Another Love Song
3. Didn’t Say feat. Latto
4. Break My Heart
5. Fallen Angel
6. How feat. Roddy Ricch
7. Pieces
9. Hide
10. Power Of A Woman
11. A Mess feat. Lucky Daye
12. Feels Like
13. Leave You Alone
14. Sink Or Swim
15. Fading Out

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

You May Also Like