Robert Glasper To Honor Miles Davis’ Legacy With ‘Everything’s Beautiful’ This May


Well, we surely can’t say we were expecting this one. While Don Cheadle is resurrecting the spirit of jazz legend Miles Davis on the big screen next month with the biopic Miles Ahead, it looks like our main man Robert Glasper is doing the same for the icon on the music front. Along with an announcement of the film’s soundtrack comes word that Glasper has been tapped for a sort of duets album with Miles that has been dubbed Everything’s Beautiful.

- Advertisement -

Rather than do the usual and have Robert play along to Miles Davis classics or even go the Verve: Remixed route and give contemporary takes on the classic material, Robert does something completely different. The jazz pianist and producer reimagines songs from Miles’ catalogue, blending and combining master takes and outtakes from throughout the trumpeter’s entire catalog to create something entirely new. And to help accomplish the feat, Robert has invited a who’s who list of collaborators: Bilal, Illa J, Erykah Badu, Phonte, Hiatus Kaiyote, Laura Mvula, KING, Georgia Anne Muldrow, former Miles Davis band member John Scofield, Ledisi and the incomparable Stevie Wonder. Is it just us or did you, too, just throw your money at your computer screen?

The Miles Ahead soundtrack, which also features four original Glasper pieces as well as dialogue from the film, will arrive the same day the movie hits theaters, April 1st. However, you’ll have to wait a bit longer to get your hands on Everything’s Beautiful, which won’t arrive until May 27th. You won’t have to wait long to get your first listen of the record, though, as the set’s first single, “Ghetto Walkin” featuring Bilal, will premiere today on Zane Lowe‘s Beats 1 radio show.

In the meantime, watch a mini-documentary about the project below, take a look at the tracklist for Everything’s Beautiful below and head to to pre-order both albums.

- Advertisement -

Miles Davis & Robert Glasper Everything’s Beautiful tracklist:

1. “Talking S**t”
2. “Ghetto Walkin” featuring Bilal
3. “They Can’t Hold Me Down” featuring Illa J
4. “Maiysha (So Long)” featuring Erykah Badu
5. “Violets” featuring Phonte
6. “Little Church” featuring Hiatus Kaiyote
7. “Silence Is The Way” featuring Laura Mvula
8. “Song For Selim” featuring KING
9. “Milestones” featuring Georgia Anne Muldrow
10. “I’m Leaving You” featuring John Scofield and Ledisi
11. “Right On Brotha” featuring Stevie Wonder

- Advertisement -

You May Also Like