Lucky Daye Rolls Out ‘Algorithm’ Release Date, Tracklist & New Single ‘Soft’

Photo Credit: Keep it Cool/RCA Records

Back in April when Lucky Daye announced his next album, he shared its title Algorithm and cover art but decided to keep the release date a secret. He simply stated that it would arrive in June. Thankfully, the secret is now out, and we have an official release date, the complete tracklist and the third single from the highly anticipated set.

Algorithm is locked in for Friday, June 28th, right before the end of Black Music Month, to make our summertime soundtrack sweeter. Daye revealed the LP’s back cover, giving us a glimpse of the 14-song tracklist and another striking black-and-white image of the photogenic artist. We also see that there are features from fellow singers Teddy Swims on the track “Blame” and RAYE on the tune “Paralyzed.” In addition to the singles “That’s You” and “HERicane,” Lucky is giving us another sample of the project with the track “Soft.”

- Advertisement -

This song finds the singer-songwriter under the spell of a lover who has him weak in the knees. He’s caught feelings and trying to make sense of how he got so caught up. Daye takes off his cool on the chorus, singing, “You makin’ me soft / So soft / Got me nervous, shakin’ every time that you kiss me / Got me on your string like a symphony / Give me more life, and it’s hard to let go.”

Co-produced by his go-to guy D’Mile, Livvy Bennett and Micahel B. Hunter, “Soft” has an R&B meets soft rock sound that Lucky Daye sells. He dives right in and rides the waves of the prominent bass, electric guitar and drums. The musicians in the recording session get a chance to show off and go off on the song’s funky instrumental outro that will elicit the stankiest of stank faces.

- Advertisement -

As he did with “HERicane,” Lucky released “Soft” with a live performance visual also directed by Jared Malik Royal. The director once again captures the artist performing in front of a colorful backdrop, but here he plays with light, shadows and close-up shots. Daye is awash in blue light as well as his band of musicians who perform mostly in shadow, but you’ll be able to recognize the maestro D’Mile doing his thing on bass.

With a few more weeks until its release, the roll-out of Lucky Daye’s Algorithm is getting pretty exciting. “I hope y’all are ready for this new era!” he teased on his socials. Get ready by pre-saving Algorithm on your favorite digital streaming platform or pre-ordering the limited-edition 2-disc vinyl from Lucky Daye’s merch store. Peep the back cover and full tracklist after you give “Soft” and its live performance visual some play below.

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -
Photo Credit: Keep it Cool/RCA Records

Lucky Daye Algorithm tracklist:

01 Never Leavin’ U Lonely
02 HERicane
03 Soft
04 PIN
05 Top
06 Algorithm
07 Blame feat. Teddy Swims
08 Think Different
09 Breakin’ The Bank
10 That’s You
11 Mary
12 Paralyzed feat. RAYE
13 Lemonade
14 Diamonds In Teal

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

You May Also Like