Jordan Rakei Finds ‘Freedom’ On Forthcoming New Album ‘The Loop’

Photo Credit: Samuel Bradley

Following a fantastic run as BBC Radio 6’s most recent Artist in Residence, GRAMMY-nominated multihyphenate creative Jordan Rakei announces his forthcoming album The Loop. Accompanying the news is the release of a second single from the project entitled “Freedom,” which follows the lead single “Flowers” that he dropped in October.

“Freedom” makes a triumphant statement with its soulful and dynamic energy. Backed by a choir, Jordan details the characteristics of true liberation. “Freedom strikes the good / Freedom likes it tough / Freedom’s had enough / Freedom calls your bluff,” he boldly declares on the chorus of the rousing number.

- Advertisement -

“‎To me, freedom is the absence of dread or sadness, and the ability to embrace happiness in life,” Rakei states about the timely and inspiring track.

Released in conjunction with a music video, the Cal McIntyre-directed visual captures those of all walks of life basking in various forms of unapologetic expression. For some, simply existing is an act of defiance, while others release themselves from their own urge to suppress whatever brings them joy. 

- Advertisement -

The Loop is Jordan Rakei’s fifth album and will serve as his debut set on Verve Forecast and Decca UK Records. This new chapter is said to coincide with several changes in his personal life, including welcoming his first child. Via press release, he credits this experience with the “reverential quality” of his tone and shares, “The album title refers to that cycle of being a child, having children, and the relationship of being your parents’ child.”

He also notes the album as his most cohesive work to date and says he sought to revisit the root of his love for music. He explains, ‎“All the artists I grew up listening ‎to — Stevie Wonder, Bill Withers, Curtis Mayfield, D’Angelo — I found myself listening to again without ‎that analytical producer side. And I kept that same approach when I started writing new music. No ‎judgment, but also a lot of ambition and desire to make these grand-sounding arrangements.”

- Advertisement -

Jordan Rakei certainly delivers a grand-sounding arrangement and song with “Freedom.” Give the track a spin and the video a look below and keep scrolling to take a gander at the album’s cover art and tracklist. Add “Freedom” to your playlists from your choice of digital music platforms and pre-order/pre-save The Loop before the album’s Friday, May 10th release date.

- Advertisement -
Photo Credit: Samuel Bradley

Jordan Rakei The Loop tracklist:

1. Flowers
2. Freedom
3. Friend or Foe
4. Royal
5. Trust
6. State of Mind
7. Hopes and Dreams
8. Learning
9. Cages
10. Forgive
11. Everything Everything
12. Miracle
13. A Little Life

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

You May Also Like