Erica Campbell Urges Us To ‘Trust And Obey’ In Advance Of New Solo Album ‘I Love You’

Photo Credit: Erica Campbell/Facebook

Erica Campbell always comes through with a word in her music, and her latest single “Trust And Obey” is no exception. Taken from her forthcoming new album I Love You, the song is a heartfelt prayer set to a piano and upright bass-driven melody and a balm for the soul of any world-weary believer just trying to live right.

The modern gospel great muses aloud about God’s call to Christians to trust and obey. “What’s this I hear? / I can hear it so clear / Speaking right into my soul / Telling me things I should already know / But my ways are too hard to let go,” she sings as she contemplates the struggle to live life God’s way versus her way.  

- Advertisement -

Campbell may not always get it right, but she is clear on this honest prayerful declaration that her life is not her own. It was bought with a hefty price and therefore belongs to God. “Trust and obey / Trust and obey / Lord, I hear, hear what You say / I must do it Your way,” she sings on the chorus, acknowledging God’s love and acquiescing to His will and His way. 

Erica knows that it isn’t easy being in the world but not of it and that sometimes as believers we fall short. She assures us that God loves us and is listening, ready to forgive and restore us, even when we stray. If you keep coming up short spiritually or are feeling spiritually disconnected, link your faith with her on this power prayer and just trust and obey.

- Advertisement -

The “I Luh God” singer recorded a promotional video to herald I Love You’s upcoming release on Friday, September 15th. We watch Erica walk by a lake with her composition book in hand as ducks swim and squirrels run about. She stops to write in her notebook and jot down her song titles while she speaks via voiceover about her journey of creating the album. She shared the video to her socials with the message, “May this album be a reminder of God’s love. I love you, but God loves you more!”

“Trust And Obey” joins the uplifting mantra “Positive” and its remix, the upbeat anthem “Feel Alright (Blessed)” and the foot-stomping good time “Sho’ Been Good” on Erica Campbell’s I Love You. The release will feature a total of 13 tracks and a packed guestlist, including Stevie Wonder, Richard Smallwood And Vision, PJ Morton, D Smoke, Jerry Peters and her eldest daughter Zaya Campbell. View the album art and tracklist below after you listen to “Trust And Obey” and watch the promo video.

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -
Photo Credit: My Block Inc.

Erica Campbell I Love You tracklist:

1. ILTL Overture feat. Jerry Peters
2. I Love The Lord feat. Richard Smallwood And Vision
3. Thank You, Thank You, Thank You feat. D Smoke
4. Positive
5. Dear Jesus (Lude) feat. Stevie Wonder
6. I Love You
7. Feel Alright (Blessed)
8. The One That Got Away feat. PJ Morton & Zaya Campbell
9. Edges feat. Ams
10. Do You Believe In Love?
11. Trust And Obey
12. Sho’ Been Good
13. Positive (Remix)

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

You May Also Like