Butcher Brown Taps Braxton Cook For ‘DYKWYD’ From New Album ‘Solar Music’

Photo Credit: Jacky Flav | Lauren Desberg

As they continue the rollout for their forthcoming album, Virginia’s own Butcher Brown blesses fans with another soulful single from the project. The group partners with saxophonist Braxton Cook on “DYKWYD,” an acronym for “Do You Know What You’re Doing,” which serves a dual purpose and soothes the souls of both new and old listeners.

Those familiar with the Butcher Brown sound are more than satisfied with yet another groovy demonstration of their brilliance and master-level musicianship on “DYKWYD.” Meanwhile, newcomers are treated to a stunning showcase of their knack for seamlessly blending elements of standard jazz, funk, R&B and hip-hop. Bandmember Marcus Tenney aka Tennishu rides the beat lyrically, making way for a dazzling solo from Braxton. It all makes for a mellow groove that will take us into the cooler months with a sense of grounding and purpose. 

- Advertisement -

Butcher Brown’s latest offering marks the third single from their next project entitled Solar Music. The track follows “This Side Of Sunshine” and the lead single “I Can Say To You” featuring Vanisha Gould. According to the band, the album will have something that appeals to everyone who listens.

Via press release, they state, “[The album] collectively demonstrates the band's dynamic approach to the jazz format and incorporating their ‎own rich lineage of musical influences from their upbringing in Richmond – fusing elements of soul, ‎funk, rock, and hip-hop, into a universal sound.” Over the course of 17 tracks, the fellas will welcome contributions from a variety of fellow talented musicians including Pink Siifu, Charlie Hunter, Jay Prince, Nappy Nina, Keyon Harrold and Michael Millions

- Advertisement -

Butcher Brown’s Solar Music will be released on Concord Jazz and is currently available for pre-save/pre-order before its October 6th release date. View the album’s vibrant cover art by artist Lou Beach and complete tracklist once you listen to “DYKWYD” with Braxton Cook and watch its futuristic animated music/lyric video below.

Now that we’re all outside again, make plans to catch the band live in concert on their massive tour across the U.S. and Europe. They plan to hit up thirteen states and seven countries along the way, including a show in their hometown of Richmond, VA on November 24th. Visit Butcher Brown’s website for dates and to purchase tickets.

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -
Photo Credit: Lou Beach

Butcher Brown Solar Music tracklist:

1. Cozumel
2. Espionage featuring Charlie Hunter
3. I Can Say To You featuring Vanisha Gould
4. MOVE (RIDE) featuring Jay Prince
5. Turismo featuring Julia Shuren
6. Eye Never Knew featuring Pink Siifu and Keyon Harrold
7. No Way Around It
8. Half of It featuring Nappy Nina
9. DYKWYD featuring Braxton Cook
10. Happy Hourrr
11. Run It Up featuring Pink Siifu
12. Pink Fur featuring Michael Millions
13. This Side Of Sunshine
14. BubbleBath
15. Touring Pains
16. It Was Me
17. Around For A While

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

You May Also Like