Shafiq Husayn Reunites With Anderson .Paak On ‘Crush You’ From New Album ‘So Gold’

Photo Credit: Shafiq Husayn/Facebook | Anderson .Paak/Instagram

It’s been over three years since Shafiq Husayn dropped his last solo album The Loop, which featured guest spots from the likes of BilalFlying LotusCoultrainErykah Badu and more. Since then, he’s joined forces with Josh Stevens and Ikuma Matsuda to form the supergroup LS+B, in addition to linking up with his Sa-Ra Creative Partners fam Taz Arnold and Om’mas Keith to provide the score for a short film used to promote the late Virgil Abloh’s Spring/Summer 2021 Louis Vuitton menswear collection. The multihyphenate now returns with a new single entitled “Crush You” and his latest project with his Dove Society crew So Gold, which is set to drop this Friday, June 9th.

On the single, Shafiq calls upon his friend and fellow workaholic Anderson.Paak for the midtempo number. Over Husayn’s bouncy track, .Paak makes his case for getting it on with his boo at any time and in any place. “Sleep is for the birds, it’s worth it to say up in the playroom / Everything we need is right within the room,” he sings in his signature raspy voice over the guitar strumming and syncopated bass.

- Advertisement -

“Crush You” is the second single from Husayn’s forthcoming album and comes behind “Sofas,” which dropped back in April. As always, he brings together a strong cast of supporting characters on this project, which is set to feature appearances by SydPeytonJimetta RoseBobby Earth, LS+B and Sa-Ra and a second song with Andy. 

Listen to the smooth stylings of Shafiq Husayn and Anderson .Paak’s “Crush You” then view the So Gold cover art, tracklist and guestlist below. The album is currently available for pre-order in digital, CD and vinyl formats via Bandcamp and will hit all streaming services on Friday.

- Advertisement -

Photo Credit: Shafiq Husayn/Bandcamp

Shafiq Husayn So Gold tracklist:

1. Enter / Intro
2. Magi's Love (feat. Sharis)
3. Little Miss Petty (feat. LS+B, Thurz, Speed Walton and Point Of Realization)
4. No Particulars (feat. Syd, Didda Joe and August Rose)
5. All Night (feat. Deva, KarenBe and Colin Devane)
6. Sofas (feat. Didda Joe, Aqeelion, Bobby Earth and Muwosi)
7. Loving You (feat. Ivory T)
8. Unconditional (feat. Jimetta Rose, Bunchy and Coultrain)
9. Crush You (feat. Anderson .Paak)
10. Maybe Baby Winter (feat. Jimetta Rose)
11. Thorns And Roses (feat. Sharis and Keng Zae)
12. Supastar Youngin (feat. Anderson .Paak)
13. Smile For Me (feat. Peyton)
14. If You Miss You Kiss You (feat. Sa-Ra and Maurice II)

- Advertisement -

You May Also Like