Musiq Soulchild & Hit-Boy Preview Collaborative Album ‘Victims & Villains’ With Singles ‘beat of a slow dance’ And ‘i remember you my ex’

Photo Credit: Musiq Soulchild/Instagram | Hit-Boy/Instagram

Although he’s released a few singles, been a featured artist on a few others and even dropped a mixtape in recent years, Musiq Soulchild hasn’t released an album since 2017’s Feel The Real. That’s about to change in a matter of days, however. The singer-songwriter has linked up with in-demand producer Hit-Boy for a collaborative album entitled Victims & Villains, which will be released on Friday, March 10th. Before the project hits these digital streets, the artists give us a sample of the album with the singles “beat of a slow dance” and “i remember you my ex” and their accompanying visuals.

The lead single “beat of a slow dance” is a romantic slow jam that finds Musiq crooning from the heart over Hit-Boy’s chill production that skews more neo-soul than his usual hip-hop. Don’t get it twisted, though, the beat may be subtle, but it will still elicit a head nod as you sway to Soulchild’s feels-filled lyrics. “My heart beats just like the speed of a slow dance / One step at a time, that’s how we should take this romance,” he sings enamored by the prospect of new love and all the possibilities.

- Advertisement -

The second single “i remember you my ex” has more of a mid-tempo, hip-hop soul vibe from Hit-Boy, which fits Musiq like a comfortable pair of jeans. Here, Soulchild reminisces about his ex-girl who he had some good memories and great times with, but given their past, he doesn’t delude himself into thinking they’ve got a future. “I think about calling, sometimes, when you’re on my mind / Late on those lonely nights / Then, I remember, you my ex,” he sings, not wanting to get that old thing back.

So far, Musiq and Hit-Boy have proven themselves to be quite a tight sonic match on “beat of a slow dance” and “i remember you my ex.” We’re looking forward to hearing what else they’ve cooked up in the studio on the collection’s remaining eight tracks – even the song with a feature from Musiq’s rapping alter ego The Husel.

- Advertisement -

Before Victims & Villains drops on Friday, get into the singles and their complementary videos in addition to the album’s cover art and complete tracklist below. Pre-save Victims & Villains on your choice of digital music services now.

Photo Credit: Musiq Soulchild/Instagram

Musiq Soulchild & Hit-Boy Victims & Villains tracklist:

1. will i touch the sky
2. i remember you my ex
3. imreallytrynaf*ckwitchu feat. The Husel
4. beat of a slow dance
5. is it love, is it lies
6. victims and villains
7. white rice déjà vu
8. between love and war
9. your love is life
10. we were just beginning

- Advertisement -

You May Also Like