T-Pain To Sing Without Auto-Tune & Cover Sam Cooke, Frank Sinatra And More On Upcoming Album ‘On Top Of The Covers’

Photo Credit: Pencil Fingerz

After showing the world that he can really sing on his NPR Tiny Desk Concert and as the winner of Season 1 of The Masked Singer, T-Pain is finally giving the people what they want: an Auto-Tune free album of cover songs. The man who brought us Rappa Ternt Sanga will fully embody that title with the release of his long-awaited new album On Top Of The Covers in March.

The “I’m U Luv (Wit A Stripper)” singer will deliver seven remakes on this collection, including his take on Sam Smith’s “Stay With Me,” one of the songs that propelled him to victory in character as “Monster” on The Masked Singer. Another recent-ish song that T-Pain will put his spin on will be Chris Stapleton’s 2015 multi-platinum hit “Tennessee Whiskey,” itself a remake of a song originally recorded by David Allan Cole in 1981.

- Advertisement -

Other than those two tracks, T-Pain will mostly be digging in the crates for On Top Of The Covers. He’ll deliver creative interpretations of Sam Cooke’s classic “A Change Is Gonna Come,” Journey’s inspirational pop anthem “Don’t Stop Believin’,” Dr. Hook’s “Sharing The Night Together,” Old Blue Eyes himself Frank Sinatra’s “That’s Life” with a feature from Pain’s artist NandoSTL and heavy metal icons Black Sabbath’s “War Pigs.”

“This covers album has been years in the making. I started recording this right after I won The Masked Singer. It got put on hold for a bit but now that I’m independent, I’m able to do whatever I want,” T-Pain shared about the album in a press release. “These songs are not what you'd expect when you hear that T-Pain is doing a covers album and that is what I think is cool about it,” he went on to state about the project’s eclectic tracklist.

- Advertisement -

One thing about T-Pain, he’s full of surprises and we can’t wait to hear him continue to spread his musical wings on this album. On Top Of The Covers will be released on Friday, March 17th on his label Nappy Boy Entertainment. In addition to the release, he’ll perform two intimate concerts to support the drop at the Sun Rose at Pendry West Hollywood in Los Angeles on March 17th and March 18th. Tickets to these shows go on sale on Friday, February 17th.

T-Pain On Top Of The Covers tracklist:

1. A Change Is Gonna Come
2. Don’t Stop Believin’
3. Sharing The Night Together
4. Stay With Me
5. Tennessee Whiskey
6. That’s Life feat. NandoSTL
7. War Pigs

- Advertisement -

You May Also Like