Sebastian Mikael Introduces Upcoming EP 'PHILEO' With 'Overgold'

Photo Credit: Sebastian Mikael/Spotify

It's been a few years since we've gotten a new project from Sebastian Mikael, but he's looking to change that soon. The Swedish singer-songwriter has a new EP on the way entitled PHILEO that will be released in October. The EP follows his 2019 release I C U U C Me Pt. II, which featured the hit song "Time" (which would go on to get a blazing remix featuring KIRBY last year). Now, Mikael may just have another hit on his hands with PHILEO's first single "Overgold."

Sebastian brings us an infectious groove to move to on "Overgold." The song has a throbbing bass line and sound that brings to mind Jamiroquai's late '90s/early aughts output. If his mission was to make people dance, then he surely succeeded.

- Advertisement -

Beyond the funk odyssey that he takes us on, there's a message in the music. Sebastian Mikael encourages us to not get bogged down by the pressure of perfection and to live a more carefree life. "Pressure, you're so precious / Infectious, we been messed with / To be perfect, so much pressure / Diamonds, don't have measure," he sings on the first verse knowing that pressure can either burst pipes or make diamonds.

If you choose the latter, Sebastian invites you to come and live the diamond life with him. "How bout you and me go someplace we never seen / Just to live out all our dreams, where we getting everything," he sings on the second verse. Our bags are already packed, and we're ready to go wherever he takes us – even if it's just to the dance floor.

- Advertisement -

"Overgold" is the second piece of new music we've gotten from Sebastian Mikael this summer following his Flwr Chyld collaboration "Good Mornin'." He is clearly on one this year and coming for us this fall and winter with PHILEO, and we're ready for that, too. The EP will be released on Friday, October 14th and is available for pre-save/pre-order now from various DSPs. After you listen to "Overgold," also available now to stream or download on your DSP of choice, below, scroll down to view PHILEO's six-song tracklist.

Sebastian Mikael PHILEO tracklist:

1. Sky feat. Pink Siifu
2. Radio (Skit) feat. Tubbs Krueger
3. Overgold
4. Scene 1
5. Security Code
6. Outro feat. Tubbs Krueger

- Advertisement -

You May Also Like