Mary J. Blige Unveils 'Good Morning Gorgeous' Album Cover And Tracklist & Needs Her 'Rent Money' From Dave East

Photo Credit: Mary J. Blige/Spotify

Mary J. Blige is less than one month away from the release of her 15th studio album, Good Morning Gorgeous. With only a few weeks until its February 11th street date, she's giving fans more reasons to get hyped up with the reveal of the album's cover art, tracklist and third single, "Rent Money" featuring rapper Dave East.

- Advertisement -

Blige graces the Good Morning Gorgeous cover with a stunning headshot. Her signature blonde tresses frame her face as she rocks a pair of her Sister Love Queen Hoops and diamonds on her neck and every finger. She's giving rich and fly auntie all at once. As if the album cover wasn't enough to fawn over, we also have the tracklist to get excited about.

Stacked with 12 songs and one interlude, the 13-track project features the double singles "Amazing" with DJ Khaled and the set's title track and additional features from Usher, Anderson .Paak and Fivio Foreign. Mary has us intrigued with song titles such as "Love Will Never," "Love Without The Heartbreak," "Falling In Love" and "Need Love." Love is clearly a common theme here, and we can't wait to hear Mary pour her heart and soul into the material. She does provide another sample of what to expect on Good Morning Gorgeous on her latest single "Rent Money."

- Advertisement -

In-demand producer D'Mile is behind the boards of "Rent Money," and he lays down an intoxicating sound bed of piano, upright bass, live drums and a head-nodding sample. MJB is in her hip-hop soul bag as she bemoans a relationship that's quite literally cost her too much. "I spent everything on ya / Spent my energy on ya, put that loyalty on ya / I ain't got nothing left, I'm in over my head," she sings to her ex who's left her broken and broke. He owes her big, and she's come to collect on the chorus, singing, "Look, now my rent money due / I spent everything f**king with you." (Trigger warning: The song contains an interpolation of a lyric from The Notorious B.I.G. and R. Kelly's "F**k You Tonight," which we could have done without thanks to the latter and is honestly unnecessary.)

Dave East joins Mary later in the track to spit his hot 16, playing a similar role to hers and lyrically kicking a chick to the curb. This isn't the first time that Mary and Dave have worked together, having previously collaborated on the track "Know How I Feel" from his album Karma 3. East has also stated that they've been working on a collaborative album, but the status of that project is unknown.

- Advertisement -

What we do know, however, is that Mary J. Blige's Good Morning Gorgeous album is now available for pre-order or pre-save from your digital music provider of choice in advance of its release on Friday, February 11th. That weekend she'll also perform at Super Bowl LVI alongside Dr. Dre, Snoop Dogg, Eminem and Kendrick Lamar during what's shaping up to be an epic halftime show on Sunday, February 13th. We just have a few more weeks to wait for all this abundance from Mary J., but for right now take "Rent Money" for a spin then view the "Good Morning Gorgeous" tracklist.

- Advertisement -

Mary J. Blige Good Morning Gorgeous tracklist:

1. No Idea
2. Love Will Never
3. Here With Me feat. Anderson .Paak
4. Rent Money feat. Dave East
5. Amazing feat. DJ Khaled
6. GMG Interlude
7. Good Morning Gorgeous
8. Come See About Me
9. On Top feat. Fivio Foreign
10. Love Without The Heartbreak
11. Falling In Love
12. Enough
13. Need Love feat. Usher

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

You May Also Like