Stokley Readies Release Of New Album ‘Sankofa’ By Revealing The Cover Art, Tracklist & Release Date

Stokley‘s sophomore album Sankofa has been a couple of years in the making, and now it’s finally ready for the world. After numerous singles and a few delays, fans will be able to get their hands on Sankofa when it’s released on Friday, September 17th. The good news doesn’t stop there, though, with Stokley also unveiling the album’s striking cover art and stacked tracklist.

- Advertisement -

The Sankofa album cover incorporates one of the Adinkra symbols for Sankofa, a mythical bird flying forward with its head turned backward, in the background. The symbol signifies a concept from the Akan people of Ghana that means “to go back and get it.” In the foreground, Stokley stands majestic in all black wearing a beaded necklace with a Sankofa pendant.

While we’re admiring Stokley’s fine self on the cover, it’s the tracklist and guestlist that are really making us excited. Sankofa will feature a whopping 18 tracks, including previously released singles “She,” “Vibrant,” “Cascade” and its remix. When it comes to featured artists, joining Snoop Dogg, The Bonfyre and Nigerian Afrobeats star KiDi (who co-stars on Stokley’s current single “Woman”) will be R&B superstar H.E.R., rapper Wale, lecturer Mahmoud El-Kati (who also happens to be Stokley’s father) and producer Shakespeare!. On the songwriting and production tip, Stokley will be assisted by S.Dot, Carvin Haggins and Shakespeare! as well. Although there were a lot of cooks in the kitchen when it came to making Sankofa, it should be noted that Stokley played 99% of the instruments on the album. We’ve long been impressed by the former Mint Condition leader’s many talents, but now we’re just amazed and in awe.

Stokley’s Sankofa will be released via a joint venture with his Bluraffe Entertainment independent label and Jimmy Jam and Terri Lewis‘ revival of Flyte Tyme/Perspective Records. Mark your calendars for Sankofa‘s debut on September 17th, and pre-order/pre-save from a handful of digital music providers.

Stokley Sankofa tracklist:

1. Sankofa – Past
2. Vibrant (feat. Snoop Dogg)
3. Cafe (feat. Wale)
4. She
5. Vudoo
6. Clouds (feat. Shakespeare!)
7. Homecoming (Lude)
8. Cascade (feat. The Bonfyre)
9. RUSH (feat. H.E.R.)
10. Sankofa – Present
11. Recipe
12. Woman (feat. KiDi)
13. Cascade (LVRS Quarrel Mix)
14. Trinkutsi (Lude)
15. Verbalize (feat. Snoop Dogg)
16. Slip
17. Lost
18. Sankofa – The Present (feat. Mahmoud El-Kati)

- Advertisement -

You May Also Like