Spend A 'Day Off' With Cynthia Erivo

With summer in full swing, we could all use a day or two away from the office. This is a sentiment that singer/actress Cynthia Erivo can get with. In fact, she downright encourages it with the release of "Day Off," the second single to be released from her upcoming debut Ch. 1 Vs. 1.

- Advertisement -

The song sets the mood immediately with the sound of a car pulling off mixed into warm, haunting synths that linger like a summer heat. With the vibe already going, Cynthia sets the story with the lyrics. "Long day working / Come downstairs and / You're here," she sings. "Key in ignition / Wheels start turning / Let's drive away from here." The chorus then comes, less of a statement than a breathy command, as she sings, "Take the whole day off / Spend it with me."

The song is about "what it would be like if I asked someone to stop working and to take a minute with me to do something—anything," the singer said in a statement. "I know what that means. I know that feeling when you're with someone, you're both going and going, and then you just stop and take the whole day to spend together."

- Advertisement -

"Day Off" and previous single "The Good," will both be a part of Ch. 1 Vs. 1, which is set for release on September 17th. Check out both the song and its visualizer below and stick around to see the set's full tracklist.

- Advertisement -

Cynthia Erivo Ch.1 Vs. 1 tracklist:

- Advertisement -

1. What In The World
2. Alive
3. Hero
4. The Good
5. Day Off
6. A Window
7. I Might Be in Love With You
8. Sweet Sarah
9. Tears
10. You’re Not Here
11. Glowing Up
12. Mama

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

You May Also Like