Shafiq Husayn Gets Ready To Throw Us For A 'Loop' With 'Walking Round Town'

Shafiq Husayn has been promising the release of his album The Loop for quite some time — since at least 2012 actually (if not longer). While fits and spurts of output have surfaced, we never had an idea of when the project would be released. Now, though, we do. Shafiq is set to drop the anticipated album later this month via Bandcamp. To get us ready for what's to come, he's also released the new song "Walking Round Town."

- Advertisement -

The track, produced by Flying Lotus and featuring vocals from Silka, features Shafiq's alluring baritone riding over a trippy groove comprised of soft guitars, floating synths, chugging drums and ethereal backing vocals. All this paired with his voice creates a heady effect that's nothing short of intoxicating.

"Walking Round Town" is just the start of what you'll find on The Loop. It features a who's who of his musical friends — including Erykah BaduBilalJimetta RoseFatimaHiatus KaiyoteCoultrainAnderson .PaakRobert Glasper and a ton more familiar names and faces. But you don't have to take our word for it. Check out the album's full tracklist after you press play on "Walking Round Town" below. Then, make sure you pre-order the set, which will be released on March 29th.

- Advertisement -

Shafiq Husayn The Loop tracklist:

- Advertisement -

1. The Flood
2. May I Assume feat. Jimetta Rose & Fatima
3. My-Story Of Love / Starring You
4. DMT (The Whill)
5. Between Us 2 feat. Bilal
6. Mrs Crabtree feat. Erykah Badu, N’Dambi & Aset SoSavvy
7. On Our Way Home feat. Fatima & Jimetta Rose
8. Walking Round Town prod. Flying Lotus
9. Cycles feat. Hiatus Kaiyote
10. Message In A Bottle feat. Coultrain
11. Its Better For You feat. Anderson Paak
12. Show Me How You Feel feat. Karen Be
13. Hours Away feat Om’Mas Keith & Coultrain
14. Twelve feat. The Dove Society
15. Picking Flowers feat. El Sadiq
16. Optimystical feat. Robert Glasper
17. New Worlds Over

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

You May Also Like