PJ Morton & Stokley Get Festive With 'All I Want For Christmas Is You' Cover

Earlier this month, PJ Morton gave us something to look forward to with the announcement of his upcoming holiday album, Christmas with PJ Morton. After teasing us with a snippet of the album's first single, "All I Want For Christmas Is You," we finally get a chance to feast our ears upon the full song and it is every bit as delectable as we imagined.

- Advertisement -

The song features PJ singing alongside Mint Condition frontman and legendary vocalist Stokley for this take on the Mariah Carey classic. PJ puts his own spin on the song, making it distinctly his own, injecting a bit of funkiness thanks to his signature synths and some well-placed horns. According to the Maroon 5 member, tackling Carey's 1994 hit was a no-brainer. "I felt like a really soulful Christmas album was missing. Mariah Carey’s 'All I Want for Christmas Is You' captured the feeling of the classics," he told Billboard. "I knew I wanted to flip it to my style, and while recording it I kept hearing Stokley’s voice on it. I grew up a fan of Mint Condition and I knew he’d be perfect on it. Couldn’t be happier with how it turned out."

Other holiday staples set to get the PJ Morton treatment include "This Christmas," "Winter Wonderland," "Give Love" and "I'll Be Home for Christmas." He also introduces a new holiday entry into the mix with "Peyton's Lullaby (Right Away)," which is named after his daughter. Stokley isn't the only artist he calls on to pitch in on his first-ever holiday album; gospel singer Yolanda Adams also lends her talents to another original tune on the album titled "Do You Believe."

- Advertisement -

Christmas with PJ Morton is set to be released on November 9th and is currently available for pre-order. Fresh off the road with his Maroon 5 compadres, Morton is prepping to embark on the fall leg of his More Gumbo Tour. Take this latest entry into the holiday fray for a spin to hear the Christmas cheer being spread by these two amazing artists.

- Advertisement -

PJ Morton Christmas with PJ Morton tracklist:

- Advertisement -

1. Winter Wonderland
2. The Christmas Song
3. Do You Believe feat. Yolanda Adams
4. I'll Be Home For Christmas
5. All I Want For Christmas Is You feat. Stokley
6. Peyton's Lullaby (Right Away)
7. This Christmas
8. Give Love

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

You May Also Like