You're Gonna Wanna Listen To Little Dragon's 'Lover Chanting'

Swedish genre-defying quartet Little Dragon always keeps us guessing with each release. Sometimes we get chilled neo-soul, others we get trippy, experimental post-pop. The one constant we get, though, is their undeniable ability to craft amazing sound journeys. Their last release, Season High, found them flirting with dance music in a way they hadn't before. Now with their upcoming EP Lover Chanting, they crew is delving even deeper into dance territory. To give us an idea of the direction their heading in, they've released the EP's title track.

- Advertisement -

"Lover Chanting" is a first for LD in many ways. Not only is it the first single from their first-ever EP, it's also the vocal debut of drummer Erik Bodin, who supplies the song's interrogatory hook, "Do you wanna be my girl? / I wanna be, be your man." Regular lead Yukimi Nagano joins in with him eventually and handles vocal duties on the verses as she paints a picture of wanting someone from afar. But don't worry, she knows that she'll get her lover. "No hurricanes nor the best cocaine / Will steal my love," she sings. "No cold black rain or the darkest days / Will keep me from your love." All these sentiments are wrapped in an enticing, almost beach-y electronic dance groove that will get your feet moving and your booty shaking from the moment you press play.

Speaking on the inspiration for the song and EP, Yukimi said in a press release, "The force of love. Not only between two people but the force of love in this universe as the ultimate ecstasy. Whether that is while you’re dancing at a disco forgetting where you are or just staring at the moon on a clear night, it can be anything. A swim in the ocean, a glance at a stranger--it’s a personal individual thing. Call it what you want but we have all felt it. So, embrace the great mystery of everything that your brain can’t grasp and lose track in the most beautiful sense.”

- Advertisement -

Lover Chanting is set to arrive on November 9th. You can give the song a listen and check out the EP's tracklist below. The single can be purchased here. Also be sure to catch LD when they embark on a short tour that kicks off this Friday in Philadelphia and includes four sold-out dates in NYC and D.C. Info about dates and tickets can be found on the Little Dragon's Facebook page.

- Advertisement -

Little Dragon Lover Chanting Tracklist:
01) Lover Chanting
02) In My House
03) Timothy
04) Lover Chanting (Radio Edit)

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

You May Also Like