Endless 'Summer': Donna Summer's Legacy To Be Revisited With Compilation Album & New Broadway Musical

It's been nearly six years since we lost legendary disco diva Donna Summer. Though her absence is sorely felt, she left behind decades of innovative music to remember her by. And now, in fact, we're kind of in the middle of a Donna Summer renaissance. Summer: The Donna Summer Musical starts previews on Broadway this week and will make its official bow on April 23rd. Capitalizing on the play, which will tell Donna's life story using three actresses and feature 20 of her hit songs, Island Def Jam/UMe will also release a companion compilation featuring some of Summer's most memorable records.

- Advertisement -

Titled Summer: The Original Hits, the collection will span Donna's barrier-breaking career and include some of her biggest hits and some unexpected gems as well. Of course, you'll get hits like the orgasmic "Love To Love You Baby," "MacArthur Park," "On The Radio" and "Bad Girls." We'll also be getting unexpected inclusions like a German language version of "White Boys" from her time in Germany in the musical Hair and the power duet "No More Tears (Enough Is Enough)" with fellow legendary diva Barbara Streisand. Those who pick up the digital edition of the compilation will also get two additional tracks, a Ralph Rosario remix of her dramatic classic "MacArthur Park" and a rework of "Hot Stuff" by Rosario and Erick Ibiza.

You can purchase tickets to Summer: The Donna Summer Musical here and pre-order Summer: The Original Hits, which is set to arrive on April 20thhere. Check out the compilation's full tracklist below.

- Advertisement -

Donna Summer Summer: The Original Hits Tracklist:

1. I Feel Love
2. Love To Love You Baby
3. I Remember Yesterday
4. On My Honor
5. White Boys – From “Haare (Hair)”
6. Faster And Faster To Nowhere
7. MacArthur Park
8. Heaven Knows – With Brooklyn Dreams
9. No More Tears (Enough Is Enough) – Duet With Barbra Streisand
10. Pandora’s Box
11. On The Radio
12. I Love You
13. Bad Girls
14. She Works Hard For The Money
15. Dim All The Lights
16. Unconditional Love
17. Hot Stuff
18. Last Dance

- Advertisement -

The Dance Continues…
19. MacArthur Park (Rosabel’s Radio Mix)**
20. Hot Stuff (Ralph Rosario & Erick Ibiza 2018 Rework)**

** Exclusive bonus tracks to the Digital Deluxe Version

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

You May Also Like