PJ Morton To Deliver A Heaping Serving Of 'Gumbo Unplugged' In March & Releases Video For 'How Deep Is Your Love'

Last month, SoulBounce fave PJ Morton announced that he'd be recording a new live album, Gumbo Unplugged, while in New York City during GRAMMY Week. He'd be joined by BJ The Chicago KidLecraeThe Hamiltones, Yebba SmithKeyon Harrold and The Matt Jones Orchestra during the recording, which would also be live-streamed online. If you were like this writer and missed the live-stream, then have no fear; Morton will be releasing the album on March 9th so that his fans can experience the magic that was created that evening.

- Advertisement -

Backed by a 22-piece ensemble, Morton reimagines his 2017 studio album Gumbo as a stripped down version of its predecessor. Previously released singles like "Everything's Gonna Be Alright," "Go Through Your Phone," "First Began" and "Religion" are transformed into sweeping, rich compositions while maintaining the integrity of the originals. Taking to social media to make the announcement, the GRAMMY-nominated singer/musician also released the first video taken from the recording, a cover of the Bee Gees' classic song, "How Deep Is Your Love," reimagined as a duet with Yebba Smith. In the clip, Morton is seated behind the piano as he and his backing band inject their own flavor into the 1977 hit. At one point, he invites the intimate audience to join in, encouraging them to sing along with the song's hook.

If the clip is any indication, then Gumbo Unplugged will be big on soulful harmonies and some stellar musicianship. Be sure to add March 9th to your calendar so you don't miss out on what looks to be a memorable performance. In the meantime, check out the clip below along with the tracklist to see what Morton is bringing to the table.

- Advertisement -

PJ Morton GUMBO Unplugged tracklist:

- Advertisement -

1. Sticking To My Guns
2. Claustrophobic feat. Keyon Harrold
3. Religion feat. Lecrae
4. How Deep Is Your Love
5. First Began
6. Go Thru Your Phone
7. They Gon’ Wanna Come
8. Alright
9. Everything’s Gonna Be Alright Feat. BJ the Chicago Kid and The Hamiltones

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

You May Also Like