Get Ready To Binge On Netflix's 'Dear White People' Series & Its Morgan Rhodes-Curated Soundtrack

With the exception of a few embarrassing duds (*cough* Iron Fist *cough*), Netflix has become a dominant force when it comes to original programming. We especially appreciate the inclusion of binge-worthy, Black-focused series that keep us engrossed not only with their storylines but with their soundtracks as well. And from the looks of things, newcomer Dear White People is poised to join Luke Cage and The Get Down as a SoulBounce favorite thanks to its relevant subject matter and a musical backdrop curated by Morgan Rhodes.

- Advertisement -

The 10-episode satirical dramedy is a continuation of Justin Simien's acclaimed (and controversial) 2014 film Dear White People, which tells the story of a diverse group of African American students at a predominantly white Ivy League college. Starring Logan Browning, Antoinette Robertson, Brandon P. Bell and Marque Richardson, it picks up where the movie left off (the aftermath of a campus blackface party) and follows various students as they navigate through racial tensions told through their perspective and experiences. The series also features opening narrations by The Get Down's Giancarlo Esposito.

As she has done time and time and time again during her previous stints as music supervisor for Ava DuVernay, Rhodes' uncanny ability to choose the perfect songs for key moments will no doubt leave a lasting impression with viewers. With featured songs from Anna Wise ("Precious Possession"), Roman GianArthur ("I-69"), Shamir ("Sometimes A Man"), not to mention Chole x Halle, Future, Thelma Houston and more, the expansive collection is a diverse set of genre-inclusive cuts that will connect with a broad audience.

- Advertisement -

Peep the Dear White People official trailer below followed by a full tracklist for the soundtrack, which is on sale on Amazon, iTunes and Google Play. Both the series and soundtrack are set to premiere on April 28th, so find a comfy spot on the couch and prepare to settle in for the weekend as you binge on both. Connect with fellow #DearWhitePeople fans (and prepare to put trolls in their place) via Twitter. You can keep up with Morgan Rhodes via Twitter as well, or tune in to her shows on WURD 900AM (Philadelphia) and KPFK (Los Angeles).

- Advertisement -

Various Artists Dear White People (Netflix Series) Soundtrack tracklist:

1. It Was Me (Score)
2. Carry On (ft. Killer Mike)- Tkay Maizda
3. Black - Innanet James
4. Stand On The Word - Joubert Singers
5. They’re Gonna Hate Me (Score)
6. I-69 - Roman GianArthur
7. My Dream - Softones
8. Uno - Rex Orange County
9. You’re Odysseus (Score)
10. Bougie Party - Chloe x Halle
11. Precious Possession - Anna Wise
12. Trap Niggas - Future
13. All About Reggie (Score)
14. Digital Kids - Viktor Taiwo
15. Obi Wan - Wolfie
16. Guilty Of Love - Unloved
17. Langston Vibes (Score)
18. Sometimes A Man - Shamir
19. Saturday Night, Sunday Morning - Thelma Houston
20. Casual Encounters - James Tillman
21. Sam & Gabe (Do You Want This) (Score)

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

You May Also Like