J. Cole Drops Videos For ‘False Prophets’ & ‘Everybody Dies’


Christmas came early for music fans waking up last Friday. First, there was the release of Childish Gambino‘s highly-anticipated Awaken, My Love!. Then J. Cole just flipped everything upside when he nonchalantly dropped two new singles, a documentary and announced that his latest album, 4 Your Eyez Only, would be released December 9th. Those singles, “False Prophets” and “Everybody Dies,” had people buzzing all weekend about the not-so-subtle shots fired (the next day, Wale pretty much confirmed some were directed at him on his response track “Groundhog Day”).

- Advertisement -

So it was puzzling for some when the tracklisting for 4 Your Eyez Only was unveiled last night and did not include either of those songs. While there’s been no explanation for the songs’ omission for the album, Cole gave the fans what they want by releasing studio quality versions of the tracks on iTunes, in addition to dropping their accompanying music videos.

Taken from the 40-minute documentary, the video for “False Prophets” features Cole rhyming from a mostly-empty public bus while “Everybody Dies” shows him drenched in the Carolina sunshine while riding around in the back of a camo-colored pickup truck. Both clips showcase the MC doing what he does best: staying low-key while he effortlessly disassembles much of the hip-hop game.

Check out the tracklisting for 4 Your Eyez (which surprise! contains no features) below, and be sure to head over to iTunes to pre-order your copy ahead of its Friday release.

- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -

You May Also Like