Angie Stone & Teddy Pendergrass Catch Us Off Guard With A 'Love TKO'


One of the most iconic slow jams ever just got a modern day update from soul songstress Angie Stone. The first single to leak from an upcoming tribute album to Teddy PendergrassDuets – Love & Soul, is the beloved "Love TKO." Bringing the classic track into 2015, Stone sings alongside the late crooner, but something is a bit off with both of their vocals in the mix, and this take doesn't match up with the smoothness of the original. With Angie's deep, velvety voice and Teddy's vintage vocals, this had strong potential to work as a duet, but it unfortunately falls a little flat. The producers may have wanted to let this one go.

- Advertisement -

"Love TKO" serves as Duets – Love & Soul’s first single to honor the singer who passed in 2010. The collection also features collaborations with soulful legends like Martha Reeves, Shuggie Otis, The Stylistics, Jody Watley and Tom Scott and even reggae great Maxi Priest. The tribute album is set for release on August 21st but until then you can see who else makes an appearance on Duets – Love & Soul with a glance at the album's tracklist below. Listen to the "Love TKO" remake right here, and let us know if the single knocks you out or leaves you wanting more like it does us.

- Advertisement -

Teddy Pendergrass Duets – Love & Soul tracklist:

1. “Love TKO” with Angie Stone
2. “It Don’t Hurt Now” with Shuggie Otis & The Stylistics
3. “Can’t We Try” with Noora Noor
4. “Close The Door” with Eric Gales
5. “Come Go With Me” with Martha Reeves
6. “Turn Off The Lights” with Linda Clifford
7. “When Somebody Loves You Back” with The Ohio Players
8. “You’re My Latest, My Greatest Inspiration” with The Stylistics
9. “The Whole Town’s Laughing At Me” with Maxi Priest
10. “And If I Had” with Rose Royce
11. “Only You” with Bonnie Pointer
12. “I Can’t Live Without Your Love” with Jody Watley & Tom Scott

- Advertisement -

You May Also Like