REVIVE Music & Blue Note Records To Release Joint Compilation, 'Supreme Sonacy (Vol. 1)'


At the intersection of the past and the present lies a new road that leads to the future. REVIVE Music (celebrating its 10-year anniversary) is partnering with Blue Note Records (celebrating its 75th anniversary) to forge one such path with Supreme Sonacy (Vol. 1), their first joint compilation. The two labels have joined forces in the past, but this undertaking is something else entirely. Spearheaded by REVIVE founder Meghan Stabile (who also serves as executive producer), the project features over 40 talented musicians and boasts a "live experience," showcasing original compositions, as well as modern re-imaginings of past pop, jazz and classical works.

- Advertisement -

Stabile expounds on the album concept and title, saying, “The title ‘Sonacy’ alludes to the supreme, transcendent power that exists at the intersection of every musical tradition. It is the term for the undefined, unexplained derivative of sound -- a melodic experience without conformity, without category. Much too expansive to explain, it just is.” She further explains that the album is "the first step of a larger exploration of the vast landscape that is the jazz idiom."

The all-star lineup, largely consisting of REVIVE family members, includes: Igmar Thomas, Raydar Ellis, GRAMMY Award-winners Jeff “Tain” Watts and Ben Williams, Marcus Strickland, Brandee Younger, Keyon Harrold, Maurice Brown, Justin Brown, Kris Bowers, Jaleel Shaw, Marc Cary, Casey Benjamin, Dana Hawkins, Terry Slingbaum, Chris Potter, Chelsea Baratz, Nadia Washington, Louis Cato, Dezron Douglas, Eldar Djangirov, Anne Drummond, James Genus, (Traces of Blue singer) Christie Dashiell, and composer Raymond Angry.

- Advertisement -

Brooklyn-based HighBreedMusic, a self-funded, grassroots music and live video production company -- provided the key to the capturing the live music experience in studio. After working closely with HBM founder Tariq Khan, Stabile is able to release a professional studio product that retains the spirit and energy of the live sessions.

Supreme Sonacy (Vol. 1) drops on August 7th (pre-orders begin on June 30th). In the meantime, visit the REVIVE website for music snippets, and check out the album trailer and track listing below.  Follow them on Facebook and Twitter for word on the third installment of their Supreme Sonacy Satellite Concert Series.

- Advertisement -

Supreme Sonacy (Vol. 1) track list:

“A Supreme Welcome (Intro)” – Raydar Ellis
“Trane Thang/Pinocchio” – Igmar Thomas & Marc Cary
“All Aboard (Raydar Ellis Remix / Interlude)” – Igmar Thomas & Marc Cary
“Let’s Wait Awhile” – Marcus Strickland & Christie Dashiell
"3 The Hard Wait (Raydar Ellis Remix / Interlude)" – Marcus Strickland & Christie Dashiell feat. Handclap Jenkins
“Water Games/Ravel Re-Imagined” – Slingbaum feat. Eldar, Casey Bejamin, Troy Roberts and BIGYUKI, Vicente Archer and Mark Colenburg
“808s in France (Interlude)” – Slingbaum
“The Procrastinator” – Keyon Harrold, Maurice Brown & Jaleel Shaw
“Playing Catch Up (Raydar Ellis Remix / Interlude)” – Keyon Harrold, Maurice Brown & Jaleel Shaw
“Dorothy Jeanne” – Brandee Younger
“1 For My DJ (Raydar Ellis Remix / Interlude)” – Brandee Younger
“Celebration of Life Suite: Awareness & Revolution” – Ray Angry feat. Nadia Washington & Chris Potter
“Celebration of Life Suite: Awakening” – Ray Angry feat. The Council of Goldfinger
“Drop Confetti Then We Jetti (Raydar Ellis Remix / Interlude)” – Ray Angry
“A Wally’s Good Night” – Paul Poindexter

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

You May Also Like