SoulBounce Presents ‘a SCANDALOUS mixtape’ By dj harvey dent

Tonight is the night that Gladiators, Fixers and numerous SoulBouncers have been waiting for with the third season premiere of Scandal at 10 pm EST on ABC. Here at SoulBounce we are caught up in all the drama and intrigue, but it’s all about the music for us. We especially love that Shonda Rhimes was inspired by classic ’60s and ’70s soul when she created Scandal and that the same music colors every episode. It’s always a treat to hear what oldie but goodie Scandal dusts off for a montage or pivotal scene each week.

- Advertisement -

Of course, we’re huge fans of the classics here at SoulBounce and have had the official Songs From Scandal: Music For Gladiators soundtrack on Stax Records in heavy rotation since its release (purchase now from Amazon or iTunes). But we wondered to ourselves how more contemporary soul music would sound on Scandal, and we decided to curate a playlist filled with music by artists who we feature on SoulBounce. Before you knew it we here at “Olivia Dope & Associates” had compiled a lengthy playlist from which a SCANDALOUS mixtape was born. We called in one of our favorite Mixologists, dj harvey dent, to lend his DJing skills, and here we are.

The songs selected for a SCANDALOUS mixtape speak to the twisted love affair between main characters Olivia Pope and President Fitzgerald “Fitz” Grant. Their relationship is built on lies, deceit and betrayal but there’s also love, lust and lots of passion. Featuring music by Erykah Badu, Jill Scott, Maxwell, Janelle Monáe, Miguel, The Foreign Exchange, Eric Roberson, Lalah Hathaway and many more, a SCANDALOUS mixtape addresses a myriad of emotions and situations. So pour yourself a glass of red wine, pop some popcorn, press play and enjoy this mix. It’s handled.

dj harvey dent a SCANDALOUS mixtape [Download 1][Download 2]

01. Scandal Opening Credits
02. Erykah Badu – I Want You (Rancido’s Deepersoul Edit)
03. Raphael Saadiq – Skyy, Can You Feel Me
04. The Brand New Heavies – I Don’t Know Why (I Love You)
05. Erykah Badu – Out My Mind, Just In Time
06. Corinne Bailey Rae – Closer
07. Daley feat. Marsha Ambrosius – Alone Together
08. Robert Glasper Experiment feat. Lalah Hathaway – Cherish The Day
09. Quadron feat. Kendrick Lamar – Better Off
10. Rufus feat. Chaka Khan – Sweet Thing
11. The Foreign Exchange feat. Muhsinah – House Of Cards
12. Lianne La Havas – Don’t Wake Me Up
13. Maxwell – Bad Habits
14. Jill Scott – Crown Royal (Record Breakin’ & Sun Circle Re-Edit)
15. Anthony David – Cold Turkey
16. Alice Smith – Fool For You
17. Eric Roberson feat. Lalah Hathaway – Dealing
18. Alicia Keys feat. Maxwell – Fire We Make
19. Jill Scott feat. Paul Wall – So Gone (What My Mind Says)
20. Janelle Monáe feat. Miguel – Primetime
21. Vivian Green – Emotional Rollercoaster
22. Prince – Scandalous

- Advertisement -

You May Also Like