Omar Prepares To Show Us That He’s ‘The Man’

It’s been seven very long years since Omar blessed us with an album, but late last year he assured that his long-awaited new set The Man would be with us sometime this spring thanks to a new deal inked with Freestyle Records. With no sign of a single or any additional information, I was skeptical that I would be holding my copy of The Man in my hands before we were well into summer, but we may at least be able to hold the album’s title track and first single once May arrives. Set for release on May 6th, “The Man” will feature on a five-track EP alongside remixes from Shafiq Husayn, Scratch Professor and Maddslinky, plus a revamped version of the classic “There’s Nothing Like This,” featuring legendary bassist Pino Palladino. Yup, we’ll take that thank you very much! The full tracklist for the project has also surfaced (which you can find after the bounce) and, as promised, that duet with Caron Wheeler is present. Other contributions come from Jamiroquai bassist Stuart Zender and Hidden Jazz Quartet in addition to the aforementioned Palladino. If you can’t wait until next month for the single, you can hear snippets of the EP tracks here.

Omar The Man tracklist:

- Advertisement -

1. Simplify
2. The Man
3. Come On Speak To Me
4. I Can Listen
5. Bully feat. The Scratch Professor
6. Treat You feat. Caron Wheeler
7. Fuck War, Make Love
8. High Heels feat. Hidden Jazz Quartet
9. I Love Being With You
10. There’€™s Nothing Like This feat. Pino Palladino
11. Eeni Meeni Myni Mo
12. When You Touch We Touch
13. Ordinary Day feat. Stuart Zender

- Advertisement -

You May Also Like