Kendrick Lamar Releases Artwork, Announces Title, & Drops Tracklist For New Album

Kendrick Lamar To Pimp A Butterfly Cover

Kendrick Lamar has had a busy week, no? The "i" and "The Blacker the Berry" rapper is in full promo mode after making the abrupt announcement that his highly anticipated sophomore album would be dropping on March 23rd (if you're keeping track, that's less than two weeks from now). Since making that announcement, he's been dropping hints and teasers about the upcoming project.

- Advertisement -

Two days ago, he took to Instagram and dropped the album's sure-to-be-iconic cover, a black-and-white photo of him and an entire crew of homies standing in front of the White House while standing over what looks to be either a K.O.'d judge or House Speaker John Boehner. He also included this cryptic statement that instantly sparked speculation about the album's title:

"Don't all dogs go to heaven? Don't Gangsta's boogie? Do owl shit stank? Lions, Tigers & Bears. But TO PIMP A BUTTERFLY. Its the American dream nigga...." - lil Homie.

- Advertisement -

Then, after nabbing the cover of Rolling Stone (and inadvertently causing a bit of controversy in the process), it was confirmed that the album would indeed be titled To Pimp a Butterfly. However, with that mystery solved, what many wondered was what songs we could expect from the project. King Kendrick put those doubts to rest, though, by revealing the tracklisting last night. As expected, "i" and "The Blacker the Berry" make appearances as well as the rumored "King Kunta," which Rolling Stone  said "could be the theme song from a Seventies blaxploitation flick." Sounds interesting. Still, more questions are being asked. For instance, what is the name of the song that Kendrick debuted on The Colbert Report and is it included here? Also, will there be any features?

While Kendrick has been forthcoming with album details as of late, we have a feeling some answers won't come until the album drops. While we wait anxiously, take a look at the album's tracklist right here.

- Advertisement -

Kendrick Lamar To Pimp a Butterfly tracklist

1. “Wesley’s Theory”
2. “For Free? (Interlude)”
3. “King Kunta”
4. “Institutionalized”
5. “These Walls”
6. “U”
7. “Alright”
8. “For Sale? (Interlude)”
9. “Momma”
10. “Hood Politics”
11. “How Much a Dollar Cost”
12. “Complexion”
13. “The Blacker the Berry”
14. “You Ain’t Gotta Lie (Momma Said)”
15. “i”
16. “Mortal Man”

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

You May Also Like